Freeholder Blanquita B. Valenti
Chair, Community Services Committee

Senior Artists’ Work
Displayed in Edison

from professional and non-professional Middlesex County artists over age 60, who participated in the Middlesex County Office of Aging & Disabled Services Senior Art Contest, is currently on display at The Studio Art Gallery in the Middlesex County College Performing Arts Center at Middlesex County College in Edison.

The works are part of a County contest, which includes artwork in 10 media categories.  First-place winners in the County contest will compete in the New Jersey Senior Citizens Art Show this fall.

The Middlesex County contest was judged by Cynthia Knight, of the Barron Arts Center, Eva Walters, of the Middlesex County Cultural and Heritage Commission and artist, Laura Brown.  Professional and non-professional entries were judged separately. 

“We are lucky to have such a wealth of artistic talent in Middlesex County,” said Freeholder Blanquita B. Valenti, chairwoman of the County’s Community Services Committee.  “I am proud of all our local artists and wish our winners luck as they compete in the state art show this fall.”

“I would like to congratulate all our senior artists,” said Freeholder Director Christopher D. Rafano.  “Middlesex County is always well represented in the state contest, and I expect this year will follow in that tradition.”     

All works entered into the County contest will be on display at The Studio Art Gallery in the Middlesex County College Performing Arts Center through Aug. 17th. Hours are 11 a.m. to
4 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays.  The show is free and open to the public.

The winners are:

Acrylic: First Place Professional, Stephanie Barbetti of Kendall Park
First Place Non-Professional, Necati Itez of Monroe Township
Second Place Non-Professional, Alberto Longo of Monroe Township
Craft:                   First Place Non-Professional, Josef Kogan of Highland Park
                           Second Place non-professional, Eva Hoefele of Colonia

Drawing:            First Place Non-Professional, Grace Chiarella of Kendall Park
Second Place Non-Professional, Joan Terzakis of Monmouth Junction                   

Mixed Media:    First Place Professional, Maxine King of Woodbridge
                         First Place Non-Professional, Loretta Brower of Edison
                         Second Place Professional, Don Bloom of East Brunswick
                         Second Place Non-Professional, Anas Gooden of Edison

Oil:                   First Place Professional, Jules Weber of Port Reading
                        First Place Non-Professional, Harbir Singh of North Brunswick
                        Second Place Professional, Bill Giacalone of Highland Park
                        Second Place Non-Professional, Vimala Arunachalam of Plainsboro
Honorable Mention Professional, Irwin Montlack of Monroe Township
                        Honorable Mention Non-Professional, Shelley Philips of Edison

Pastel:               First Place Non-Professional, V. Twyla Tanko of Sewaren 
                         Second Place Non-Professional, Leona Cheung of Iselin 
                         Honorable Mention Non-Professional, Annette Newmark of Monroe Township

Photography:    First Place Professional, Harvey Levine of Edison
First Place Non-professional, Thomas Maugham of East Brunswick
                        Second Place Professional, Jay I. Shin of Piscataway
                        Second Place Non-Professional, Mohinder P. Sood of Edison

Print:                First Place Professional, Fran Nimeck of North Brunswick

Sculpture:        First Place Professional, Ellen Rebarber of Highland Park
                       First Place Non-Professional, Manny Bar of Monroe Township
                       Second Place Professional, Fred Cole of Highland Park

Watercolor:     First Place Professional, Maxwell Nimeck of North Brunswick
                       First Place Non-Professional, Patricia Orzack of Colonia
Second Place Professional, Bernice Rappoport of Old Bridge                    
                       Second Place Non-Professional, Mickey Seppi of Metuchen
                       Honorable Mention Professional, Robert Heyer of Monroe Township
Honorable Mention Non-Professional, Mary Ellen J. Brennan of Monroe Township
Honorable Mention Non-Professional, Nancy Edwards-Casteras of Colonia